Vessels/Boats, as personal property, are subject to property taxation just like any other businesses and must be reported on the Vessel Property Statement (Form 576-D), as of the lien date, January 1, unless you are already on a Direct Billing (assessed based on prior year value with a threshold of $50,000 or less).  

The California Revenue and Taxation Code states that all property is subject to property tax unless otherwise exempt. Homeowners are familiar with the property taxes on their home. Vessels are taxable personal property and are therefore subject to property tax assessment in accordance with Section 201 of the California Revenue and Taxation Code.
Vessels appraised annually at full market value. The value is determined by reviewing the information on the Vessel Property Statement (Form 576-D), along with purchase information and comparable sales. Ownership information is also obtained from the California State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the United States Coast Guard (USCG), and an on-site inspection of all marinas.
San Francisco’s tax rate is determined by the Board of Supervisors. While Proposition 13 established a maximum property tax rate of one percent (1%) of the assessable value, additional tax rate increases may be necessary to pay off indebtedness such as bonds authorized by San Francisco voters. Applying the 2017 tax rate of 1.1792% on the assessed value of the vessel will give a conservative estimate of what the tax owed will be. For example, if the assessed value is $25,000 the property taxes on the vessel will be approximately $295.
If you file your Vessel Property Statement (Form 576-D) by the April 1, 2016 deadline, you should receive your tax bill by the end of June. Payment is due on or before August 31st and becomes delinquent after that date. Delinquent bills will be subject to penalties and interest imposed by the San Francisco Office of the Treasurer & Tax Collector.
Yes, by law, the Vessel Property Statement is confidential. It is not a public document and will be held confidential by the Assessor.
If you do not file a Vessel Property Statement, the Assessor’s Office will determine an assessable value as directed by the state law. In addition, a 10% penalty for failure to file will be added to your assessment.

To request a copy of your prior year’s statement/valuation, please send your written request to the Business Personal Property Division, Attn: Marine Division, 1155 Market Street, 5th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94103 or fax to (415) 554-5544, or e-mail to askmarine@sfgov.org.  Please include the Vessel No. ownership name, and mailing address, specify the year you are requesting.  If you are an agent of a boat owner, an authorization letter from the vessel owner is required.

Yes, you still need to file the statement. The Form includes a place for you to indicate the current status of your vessel and the date the status change took effect. If you sold your vessel, please indicate the name and mailing address of the new owner. After completing the form, please sign and return it to the Assessor’s Office.
Yes, boat berths rented or leased from government owned marinas, such as Fisherman’s Wharf, Pier 39, San Francisco Yacht Harbor, and the South Beach and Treasure Island marina are taxed annually as a possessory interest. These tax bills are based on rent paid at that marina. For inquiries please e-mail: assessor@sfgov.org or call (415) 554-5596 or fax (415) 554-7151, and ask for the Possessory Interest Unit.